MY FORMS MY BOOKLIST MY PUZZLES contact info home page
School Calendar
Classroom Info
Lunch Menu
RCS Information
Symbaloo Webmixes
Religion Corner
» Acts of
» Angels and Saints
» Basic Prayers
» Catholics Should Know...
» Mary Devotion
» Minute Meditations
» Prayer Requests
» Saint of the Day
» The Religion Clock
» Vocations

Religion Corner » Catholics Should Know...

Catholics Should Know... Catholics Should Know...

Things Every Catholic Should Know


The Ten Commandments

1.  I, the Lord am your God. You shall not have other gods besides me.
2.  You shall not take the name of the Lord, your God, in vain.
3.  Remember to keep holy the Sabbath Day.
4.  Honor your father and your mother.
5.  You shall not kill.
6.  You shall not commit adultery.
7.  You shall not steal.
8.  You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
9.  You shall not covet thy neighbor's wife.
10. You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbour.


Duties of A Catholic Christian

  • To keep holy the day of the Lord's resurrection (Sunday). To worship God by participating in Mass for every Sunday and holy day of obligation. To avoid these activities that would hinder worship, joy, or relaxation.
  • To lead a sacramental life. To receive Holy Communion frequently and the Sacrament of Reconciliation regularly.
  • To study Catholic teachings in preparation for the Sacrament of Confirmation, to be confirmed, and then to continue to study and advance the cause of Christ.
  • To observe the marriage laws of the Church. To give religious training, by word and example, to one's children. To use parish schools and catechetical programs.
  • To strengthen and support the Church-one's own parish community and parish priests, the worldwide Church, and the pope.
  • To do penance, including abstaining from meat and fasting on the appointed days.
  • To join in the missionary spirit and apostolate of the Church.


Days of Fasting

Ash Wednesday and Good Friday


Days of Abstinence

Ash Wednesday and All Fridays in Lent


Holy Days of Obligation

January 1:                        Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God
Fortieth day after Easter:   Ascension
August 15:                       Assumption
November 1:                     All Saints' Day
December 8:                     Immaculate Conception
December 25:                   Christmas


The Seven Sacraments

Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation (Penance), Anointing of the Sick, Matrimony, Holy Orders


Corporal Works of Mercy

Feed the hungary, give drink to the thirsty, clothe the naked, visit the sick, shelter the homeless, visit the imprisoned, bury the dead


Spiritual Works of Mercy

Warn the sinner, instruct the ignorant, counsel the doubtful, comfort the sorrowing, bear wrongs patiently, forgive all sinners, pray for the living and the dead


The Theological Virtues

faith, hope, and love (charity)


The Cardinal Virtues

prudence, temperance, justice, fortitude


The Beatitudes

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.


The Way of the Cross

1.   Jesus Is Condemned to Death.

2.   Jesus Takes Up His Cross.

3.   Jesus Falls the First Time.

4.   Jesus Meets His Sorrowful Mother.

5.   Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry the Cross.

6.   Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus.

7.   Jesus Falls a Second Time.

8.   Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem.

9.   Jesus Falls the Third Time.

10.  Jesus Is Stripped of His Garments.

11.  Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross.

12.  Jesus Dies on the Cross.

13.  Jesus Is Taken Down From the Cross.

14.  Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb.

15.  The Resurrection of Jesus.


Gifts of the Holy Spirit

wisdom, understanding, right judgment (counsel), courage (fortitude), knowledge, reverence (piety), wonder and awe (fear of the Lord)


Fruits of the Holy Spirit

charity, joy, peace, patience, benignity, goodness, longanimity, mildness, faith, modesty, continency, chastity


The Mysteries of the Rosary

Joyful Mysteries

The Annunciation
Presentation of Jesus in the Temple
Finding of the Jesus in the Temple

Luminous Mysteries

The Baptism of Jesus
Wedding at Cana
Jesus' Proclamation of the
Kingdom of God
Institution of the Eucharist

Sorrowful Mysteries

The Agony in the Garden
Scourging at the Pillar
Crowning with Thorns
Carrying of the Cross
Crucifixion and Death of Jesus

The Glorious Mysteries

The Resurrection
Descent of the Holy Spirit
Assumption of Mary
Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth



Blessed be God. Blessed be His Holy Name. Blessed be Jesus Christ, true God and true Man. Blessed be the Name of Jesus. Blessed be His Most Sacred Heart. Blessed be Jesus in the Most Holy Sacrament of the Altar. Blessed be the great Mother of God, Mary most Holy. Blessed be her Holy and Immaculate Conception. Blessed be her Glorious Assumption. Blessed be the Name of Mary, Virgin and Mother. Blessed be St. Joseph, her most chaste spouse. Blessed be God in His Angels and in His Saints.

Mrs. Buller's Website
Resurrection Catholic School
Lancaster, PA